Premiership Predictions – Comment is Free!!!!

1. Chelsea
2. Man. Utd
3. Liverpool
4. Arsenal (just)

Man. Utd have failed to properly replace Ronaldo, and have a much weaker forward line this year. Liverpool don’t seem to have the strength in depth or the strength of manager to win it (though they may prove me wrong). Arsenal will be lucky to scrape fourth this year (but I think they will). So I’m taking a pot shot at Chelsea just because I think they have the best squad. Their success, however, will be largely dependent on how Ancelotti settles into the Premiership, so if he fails to settle well I could be proved spectacularly wrong.

5. Tottenham
6. Everton

I think Harry will do the trick for Tottenham this year and push us up into fifth. This may be misplaced optimism (in fact, it probably is) but we have had a very stable and considered pre-season in the transfer market, and will start the season with the best balanced squad we’ve had in years. Everton will finish sixth I feel, leaving Man. City and Aston Villa below.

I simply cannot see Man. City pulling it together this year. Again, I may be proven spectacularly wrong, but I don’t think they’ve bought particularly well this summer, and think they have a poorly balanced squad – it will be hard to keep all those attacking players happy. More important than all this, however, I simply don’t think Mark Hughes has what it takes to make them into a top four side. He doesn’t seem to be that good of a tactician, nor that good of a man-manager, and you need both of those skills to be able to succeed at the top level.

18. Wolves
19. Stoke City
20. Burnley

No real reasons for these, just gut instinct.

THOUGHTS ANYONE??

Explore posts in the same categories: General Football Matters

5 Comments on “Premiership Predictions – Comment is Free!!!!”

  1. Dave Tonks Says:

    I think I have to agree with you on the Champions for 09/10. I also feel Utd are a little light without Ronaldo and Tevez, and Valencia and Owen are most certainly a weaker option. This is a big year for Rooney and we will get to see what he is really made of this year, if he can keep his head in the pressure situations maybe Utd will prove us wrong. As for Liverpool, I am really hoping and praying that this is our year, but I do feel we are a little light in squad depth. After watching the Pre-season game against Atletico Madrid I came away with mixed feelings. Going forward we looked brilliant and if Torres says fit (big if) we will most certainly be in there until the end, but at the back if we get a couple of injuries we will be struggling. Glen Johnson does look to be agood buy though after seeing him live, which is a big plus for me.

    After those 3 who I feel will make up the title race it anyons guess. Arsenal do look good going forward, but their lack of movement in the transfer market to date worries me. I understand he has some quality youth players coming through and I am not going to do a Hansen and say you cant win anything with kids but I really feel they are week in defence and need a ball winner in the middle. I always say this big 4 will always stay the big 4 but as you have said I think they will just scrape 4th.

    5th, 6th, 7th snd 8th I feel will be filled with Man City, Everton, Villa, Spurs or Fulham take your pick of 4 from that 5. City will cause some upsets but they themselves will be upset by some smaller teams as you cant buy a team only individuals. Personally I think Hughes will be gone by Christmas and someone of greater ability will take over. They will have issues keeping everyone happy up front, 5 doesn’t go into 2!! Spurs seem to be chugging along as per usual, but there problems will be at the back as always, if they can keep clean sheets they could push Arsenal for 4th but I am just not sure they can, and in that wins turn into draws. I think they will also struggle to keep their forwards happy they seem to have a few and Harry always seems to be looking for another striker, whats that about??

    Everton are a solid unit, but if Lescott goes that will be a big loss for them, but their forward line looks better than it has in a long time and that bodes well for them as goals always seems to be their issue. Villa again are a solid side and the additions they have made will make them a greater attacking force but they always seem to fall away towards the end of the season and I feel that again will happen this year. The problem these two sides will face is balancing Europe and the Premier league, Spurs and City aren’t in Europe and that will make that battle between theses 4 teams very interesting.

    My dark horses for a push this year are Fulham, Roy Hodgeson has worked wonders there and after last years 7th place I think they can push for top 6 this year. He has made a couple of good additions and if they can keep hold of Brede Hangeland I feel they may just surprise a few. They too however have Europe to deal with and this might just halt things domestically.

    As for going down, my gut says Burnley, Portsmouth, Wolves

  2. Simon Dron Says:

    I think Chelsea have the best squad and would put them as my prediction for winning the league. Liverpool second, Utd third, but i expect it to be close, maybe 5 points or so between all three.

    Arsenal I think will hang on to fourth. Probably not that close to the other 3. Man City fifth, think they’ll do well, although doubt Hughes will still be their manager at the end of the season. Spurs sixth, think Harry will do an ok job. Everton and Villa to follow.

    Bottom 3 I reckon, Burnley, Birmingham and Hull. Think Wolves and Portsmouth will just avoid the drop. Don’t agree with Stoke, reckon they’ll be fine, finish 14th or so.

    Anyway thats just my prediction, probably be massively wrong.

  3. Simon Says:

    Dave, Man City may actually have a better season if they sack Hughes by Christmas. They do need a bigger name manager to manager their big name players.

  4. queenmothersbiggestfan Says:

    Top four:

    Manchester United
    Chelsea
    Liverpool
    Arsenal

    Fifth and Sixth
    Tottenham Hotspur
    Manchester City

    Bottom Three
    Birmingham City
    Portsmouth
    Wolves

  5. Simon Says:

    Wolves for bottom? Really? That surprises me. And Birmingham surprises me too. They have a good squad. Bottom three is difficult to call this year.

    Explain your Wolves decision, James??


Comments are closed.