Mark Hughes receives sack for Christmas, and not the kind with presents in

Plaudits to Seven Sisters contributor Mr. David Tonks, who is in (electronic) print on this blog as having predicted that Mark Hughes would be sacked by Christmas. In response to a post of mine in which I criticised Hughes, Dave said the following:

I think Hughes will be gone by Christmas and someone of greater ability will take over.

Hughes has indeed been sacked, though only just by Christmas. Regardless of what we might think of the decision (I think it is a correct footballing decision, because I don’t rate Hughes, but I’m not sure if his actual managerial performance this season merits it, as City have only lost twice), it might be interesting to consider what this will mean for City’s season.

Interestingly, I responded to Dave’s prediction in my subsequent comment, as follows:

Dave, Man City may actually have a better season if they sack Hughes by Christmas. They do need a bigger name manager to manager their big name players.

What do we think? Can Mancini, an Italian with no Premiership experience, turn things around for City?

Explore posts in the same categories: General Football Matters

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

4 Comments on “Mark Hughes receives sack for Christmas, and not the kind with presents in”

  1. queenmothersbiggestfan Says:

    Personally, although I think Hughes was laways going to go and that the club needs a manager similar to ones Chelsea have employed, I still think its a mistake.

    Whenever you build a new team, you have to give the squad time to gel and work togther. It doesn’t just happen overnight. Hughes was in the process of doing that in my opinion was doing a good job. Semi Final of the Carling cup and 6th in the most competitive league there is is a very good effort for the first season.

    I wonder if the new guy will be able to do any better and whether this will set a bad precedent. New Man City managers will not able to have a bad spell without getting the sack.

  2. queenmothersbiggestfan Says:

    By the way, Arsene Wenger knew that this would happen. He foresaw it. Thats why he didnt shake Mark Hughes’s hand, not because he’s a grumpy French man.

  3. Simon Says:

    Arsene does have that modern day prophet look about him.

  4. anyonebutunited Says:

    I knew I had predicted that somewhere. I only wish I had stuck a flippin bet on!!! To be fair, I think Hughes was ripped off a bit really. Sounds like the owners moved the goal posts as it were and the rest is history. Although I am quite happy about it to be honest. I found myself starting to take a real dislike to Man City and when I look at why, it had a lot to do with Hughes’ attitude, which in turn seemed to be rubbing off on his players. I really don’t want to dislike them as it gives me something to bring up when giving it to the Utd fans! As lets face it, Liverpool aren’t giving me much to shout about at the moment 😉


Comments are closed.